Student Sustainability Committee

Mission Statement

The Student Sustainability Committee (SSC) is a student-led organization charged with the distribution of two student fees – the Sustainable Campus Environment Fee and the Cleaner Energy Technologies Fee. With the ultimate goal of making the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign a leader in campus sustainability, SSC reviews, recommends, and funds projects that increase environmental stewardship, inspire change, and impact students.

Committee Charge

The committee's purposes are to:

  1. explore options for the use of the student fees for sustainability and alternative energy generation,
  2. organize a request for proposals (RFP) process each semester to solicit projects from across campus;
  3. evaluate the feasibility of projects being discussed with the professional assistance of faculty and Facilities and Services staff;
  4. assist and track approved projects through the implementation stage;
  5. work with the Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment, other campus units and student groups to promote sustainability efforts on campus.


No fewer than 10 but no greater than 18 voting student members. Graduate and professional students can comprise no greater than 1/3 of voting committee members.

  • 5 ex officio non-voting staff advisors
  • At least 6 ex officio non-voting faculty advisors

Time Commitment

Members are expected to attend all full committee meetings and at least one Working Group or Subcommittee meeting. Full committee, Working Group, and Subcommittee meetings are 1 hour each. Full committee meetings and Working Group or Subcommittee meetings occur on alternating weeks. This means members will be sitting in at least 1 hour of meeting(s) a week. Additionally, there is an estimated 8 hours each month for reading proposals and following up with applicants. Due to the need to expedite the proposal process, consistent attendance and thoughtful review of applications is essential.

Term Limit

Student committee members will be appointed for one academic year and will have to go through the committee selection process thereafter to serve on the committee again. Faculty and staff ex officio members are appointed by the Director of the Institute for Sustainability, Energy and Environment and serve a one-year term. Faculty members are selected by the committee in conjunction with the Institute for Sustainability, Energy and Environment.

Chair Contact

Sammy Yoo


Student Affairs/Student Success & Engagement