You are here

Student Leadership Awards and Scholarships

Student Leadership Awards and Scholarships

The Student Leadership Awards & Scholarships program recognizes students and registered student organizations for academic excellence, a commitment to leadership at the University of Illinois, and a dedication to service at the local, national, and international level.

Nominate a Deserving Student: 

Nomination Deadline: EXTENDED

  • Friday, March 19, 2021 at 11:59 pm.

Promotional Items: 

  • Download the Promotional Flyer (PDF) - COMING SOON

Student Leadership Awards & Scholarships Recognition Information

  • Will not have an in-person event this year due to COVID-19 pandemic. 
  • There will be a recognition of winners online

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Students may be nominated by a faculty or staff member, or another Illinois student. Self-nominations are not accepted; however, we encourage students to discuss their interest in an award or scholarship with a potential nominator who they believe can speak to their strengths and qualifications. Nominators are urged to let their nominees know a nomination is being submitted for them.

  • An individual may nominate more than one student, and nominators may nominate each student for more than one award.

  • Within a few days of the nomination's submission, the nominator will receive a confirmation email and student-nominees will receive an email asking them to submit their resumés. Student-nominees need to submit their resumés - usually within a very short timeframe - to complete the application process. This step is important, as incomplete applications will not be considered.

  • Monetary sums are given with each award/scholarship. The amount of each award may vary from one year to the next depending on funding available. 

  • Most of the awards and scholarships are for individuals, but Registered Student Organizations (RSOs) may be nominated for the Joseph H. Smith Award.

Award & Scholarship Criteria

  • Awards and scholarships are selected by the Student Leadership & Scholarships Awards Selection Committee.

Awards Determined by Student Leadership & Scholarships Awards Selection Committee

Excellence in Leadership Awards

  • Chicago Illini Club Award
  • Victoria Lynn Merkel Award
  • Willard Broom Award
  • Procter & Gamble Award

Recipient: Senior(s) (will graduate by December of 2021)
Criteria: Exceptional leadership

Jean F. Hill Awards
Recipient: Senior(s) from under-represented populations 
Criteria: Exceptional leadership and overcame significant personal obstacles to earn their degrees

Irene Pierson Award
Recipient: Junior
Criteria: Excellence in student activities, leadership and academics 

Barbara Seaquist Williams Leadership Awards
Recipient: Juniors, female 
Criteria: Minimum cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 (A=4.0); outstanding leadership, impact on quality of University programs, services and/or activities; creativity and community awareness in her work

Joshua L. Grafton Scholarship Awards
Recipient: Sophomores
Criteria: Outstanding creativity, initiative and potential in his or her extracurricular activities 

Patricia E. Askew Leadership Award
Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Exceptional leadership on campus; instrumental in creating or enhancing a registered student organization 

Joseph H. Smith Award
Recipient: Undergraduate student, graduate/professional student, or RSO
Criteria: Developed an effective and sustaining activity toward interracial or cultural understanding and appreciation through outside classroom experiences

Stanley R. Levy Leadership Scholarship
Recipient: Sophomore or Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: Significant leadership positions. Recipients must hold leadership position within a registered student organization for following year. Must demonstrate financial need.
(Note: nominations for this award must be made by a faculty or staff member.)

Edith and Harry Darby Leadership Scholarship
Recipient: Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: Scholarship will be awarded based upon academic merit (minimum 3.0 GPA), and secondarily upon other measures of high achievement and excellence, such as outstanding campus leadership. Expected to hold leadership position within a registered student organization for following year.

Susan Teegarden Morrison Leadership Scholarship
Recipient: Sophomore or Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: For active leaders in major campus organizations; recipients are expected to hold leadership position within a registered student organization in the following academic year

Cathy Acevedo Memorial Scholarship
Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Demonstrated interest in the advancement of Latino(a) issues and concerns.

Renée Romano Leadership Scholarship
Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Exemplifies authentic leadership and has contributed a personal legacy of impact that benefits women students


Other Awards Presented at the Student Leadership Awards Banquet

Moms Association Humanitarian Award
Undergraduate or graduate/professional student
Criteria: Outstanding and innovative service within the local community 
Award: Individual monetary award to be determined, plus a grant to the recipient's organization of choice

Contact Us